Silverstone Moto3: Ramirez triumphs as Canet hits trouble

Leopard Racing’s Marcos Ramirez scored his second Moto3 victory at Silverstone, beating Lorenzo Dalla Porta and Tony Arbolino, while title contender Aron Canet suffered a crash.

Dalla Porta led the majority of the race, establishing himself in first place after the opening lap and keeping the position for several laps until Arbolino pulled off a move at Stowe.

After a couple of laps of fighting with the likes of John McPhee and Ai Ogura, Dalla Porta was back ahead for four laps but his run was again disrupted by Arbolino, now passing him at Village.

This time it was Ramirez joining them, and the trio trading the lead several times before Dalla Porta again establishing himself ahead.

But he made a small mistake at Vale on the last lap which allowed Ramirez to sneak past.

With Arbolino and Dalla Porta then overtaking each other three times in three corners between Village and Aintree, Ramirez had a sufficient lead in the last sector of the race to make it to the finish ahead.

Arbolino took second, with championship leader Dalla Porta completing the podium.

The latter extended his lead to 14 points over Canet, who was collected by a crashing Albert Arenas two laps into the race and could only score three points in 13th after a solid recovery.

SIC58 duo Niccolo Antonelli and Tatsuki Suzuki completed the top five ahead of Petronas Sprinta riders Ayumu Sasaki and McPhee.

McPhee was fighting for the lead in the first half of his home race, but was one of few riders to ride with a soft rear tyre and started to fade towards the finish.

Sky VR46 teammates Dennis Foggia and Celestino Vietti, as well as Ogura, completed the top 10.

Jaume Masia made a mistake at Maggotts and could only finish 11th, despite looking poised to fight within the top three early on.

Apart from Arenas, Austria winner Romano Fenati and wildcard Maximilian Kofler crashed.

Race results:

142 Marcos RamirezHonda17 
214 Tony ArbolinoHonda17 0.240
348 Lorenzo Dalla PortaHonda17 0.374
423 Niccolo AntonelliHonda17 0.425
524 Tatsuki SuzukiHonda17 0.495
671 Ayumu SasakiHonda17 0.816
717 John McPheeHonda17 1.045
87 Dennis FoggiaKTM17 1.210
913 Celestino Vietti RamusKTM17 1.235
1079 Ai OguraHonda17 1.30
115 Jaume MasiaKTM17 1.921
1240 Darryn BinderKTM17 7.341
1344 Arón CanetKTM17 12.318
1452Jeremy AlcobaHonda17 12.620
1521 Alonso LópezHonda17 12.861
1684 Jakub KornfeilKTM17 13.034
1716 Andrea MignoKTM17 13.114
1825 Raúl FernándezKTM17 13.531
1911 Sergio GarcíaHonda17 13.752
2027 Kaito TobaHonda17 13.934
2112 Filip SalačKTM17 14.028
2282 Stefano NepaKTM17 14.086
2376 Makar YurchenkoKTM17 14.362
2461 Can ÖncüKTM17 27.836
2569 Tom Booth-AmosKTM17 30.556
2622 Kazuki MasakiKTM17 30.706
2754 Riccardo RossiHonda17 30.746
2873 Maximilian KoflerKTM17 53.880
2996Brandon PaaschKTM17 1’03.928
 55 Romano FenatiHonda9 8 Laps
 75 Albert ArenasKTM4 13 Laps

Source: Read Full Article