MG4 crowned 2023 DrivingElectric Car of the Year

MG’s budget-focussed family hatchback wins big in our sister title’s celebration of the best electric and hybrid cars

The MG4 has been named Car of the Year for 2023 in our sister brand DrivingElectric’s annual awards ceremony.

The all-electric family hatchback is one of the brand’s most budget-focussed models to date, and it also bagged the title of Best Value Electric Car as a result. Pricing for the MG4 starts from under £26,000, making it one of the most affordable EVs on sale in the UK, yet it still offers much of the same tech and features found on its pricier rivals.

  • New Car Awards 2022: the winners

All MG4s offer battery range of over 200 miles along with a 150kW rapid charging capability, there’s plenty of on-board tech, and the brand’s seven-year/80,000-mile warranty also comes as standard.

All this has clearly proven popular with buyers, as not only did the MG4 impress the DrivingElectric judges, but it was also voted as the Readers’ Favourite Electric Car in an online survey. 

DrivingElectric Editor, Richard Ingram, said: “The MG4 combines range, practicality and loads of kit into a sharp-looking, fun-to-drive package – all at an unbeatable price.”

2022 has clearly been a successful year for MG. Not only has the MG4 cemented the chinese-owned brand’s place in the UK market, but its upcoming MG Cyberster roadster was voted as DrivingElectric’s Most Anticipated Readers’ Car of the Year. This makes for a total of four awards.

MG Motor UK’s Commercial Director, Guy Pigounakis, said the brand was “thrilled” with the results: “We’re committed to making zero-emissions motoring attainable for as many people as possible,” he said, “with cars that are true to MG’s ‘Get More’ philosophy.”

Other DrivingElectric award winners included the Kia Niro, which was awarded the title of Best Hybrid Family Car. The Ora Funky Cat overtook the Fiat 500 as the Best Urban Electric Car, and the Skoda Enyaq iV managed to hold onto its title of Best Electric Family Car for another year.

The full list of award winners can be found here…

Source: Read Full Article