Max Verstappen wins the 2018 Mexican GP

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen has won the 2018 Mexican GP. Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel finished in second place as Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull) retired after suffering from a mechanical failure. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) took the final podium place. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) finished fourth, but that was enough for him to secure his fifth World Drivers’ Championship title with two races to go.

The Red Bull cars started the race from the front row. Ricciardo had a slow start from pole position, which gave Hamilton a chance to move into second place. Mercedes were the first to pit on lap 12. The Red Bulls pitted on lap 13 and 14 followed by the Ferraris on lap 18. While Verstappen lead the pack, his team mate was held up behind backmarkers, which gave Vettel an opportunity to pass the Red Bull. On lap 39, Vettel overtook Hamilton to move up into second place. Valtteri Bottas in the other Mercedes finished in fifth place. 

Nico Hulkenberg (Renault) finished in sixth place ahead of Charles Leclerc in the Sauber. Stoffel Vandoorne (McLaren) came eighth, while his team mate Fernando Alonso retired in the early part of the race. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber) finished ninth and Toro Rosso’s Pierre Gasly took the final championship point.

With 2 more races to go, Lewis Hamilton now has an unassailable lead over Sebastian Vettel in the World Drivers’ Championship. The fight for the Constructors’ Championship is still on with Mercedes leading Ferrari by 55 points. The next race will be held in Brazil on November 11, 2018.

World Drivers’ Championship standings:

Lewis Hamilton – 358

Sebastian Vettel – 294

Kimi Raikkonen – 236

World Constructors’ Championship standings:

Mercedes – 585

Ferrari – 530

Red Bull – 362

Source: Read Full Article