F1 results: Portuguese GP, Hamilton beats Schumacher record

Lewis Hamilton won the Portuguese Grand Prix for Mercedes at Portimao in Portugal, round 12 of the Formula 1 World Championship, and his 92nd F1 victory surpasses the all-time record of the legendary Michael Schumacher.

From pole position, Hamilton held the lead off the startline with Red Bull’s Max Verstappen jumping past Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) into second at Turn 1, but Bottas fought back, pushing him wide at Turn 3. Verstappen then clashed with Sergio Perez, sending the Racing Point spinning down to last.

With spots of rain falling, Hamilton struggled for grip and Bottas passed him for the lead a few corners later. Bottas led the opening lap but McLaren’s charging Carlos Sainz caught and passed him for the lead, as the McLaren seemed to have no issues in firing up its soft tyres in the slippery conditions, while Mercedes toiled initially on mediums. Verstappen fell back to fifth, but soon passed Lando Norris in the second McLaren.

Bottas used DRS to reclaim the lead from Sainz at the start of Lap 6, and Hamilton followed suit a lap later as the rain stopped and Sainz began to complain of tyre graining. Verstappen and Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc further demoted Sainz.

Hamilton set a sequence of fastest laps to catch Bottas and passed him using DRS at the start of Lap 20, and subsequently pulled well clear out front. Hamilton was 10 seconds clear of Bottas when he pitted for the hard tyre with 25 laps to go.

Despite some further brief rain showers, Hamilton eased his way to a record-breaking victory, finishing well clear of Bottas, Verstappen and Leclerc.

The McLaren v Racing Point constructors’ championship fight escalated as Norris and Stroll clashed at Turn 1, Lando sending Lance spinning after the latter’s bold bid to pass him around the outside. Both cars sustained wing damage and fell to the rear of the pack, with Stroll getting a 5s time penalty.

Perez saved Racing Point’s day with an amazing comeback drive from his opening lap spin, but the choice of running softs in the final stint came back to bite him in the closing laps, as Gasly passed him for fifth place with two laps to go. Sainz mirrored the move on the final lap, to grab sixth.

Perez finished seventh, ahead of the Renaults of Esteban Ocon and Daniel Ricciardo. Sebastian Vettel claimed the final point for Ferrari.

F1 Portuguese Grand Prix race results

Cla Driver ChassisEngineLapsTimeGapPits
1  Lewis Hamilton MercedesMercedes66 1
2  Valtteri Bottas MercedesMercedes66 25.592 25.592 1
3  Max Verstappen Red BullHonda66 34.508 34.508 1
4  Charles Leclerc FerrariFerrari66 1’05.312 1’05.312 1
5  Pierre Gasly AlphaTauriHonda65 1 lap  1
6  Carlos Sainz Jr. McLarenRenault65 1 lap  1
7  Sergio Perez Racing PointMercedes65 1 lap  2
8  Esteban Ocon RenaultRenault65 1 lap  1
9  Daniel Ricciardo RenaultRenault65 1 lap  1
10  Sebastian Vettel FerrariFerrari65 1 lap  1
11  Kimi Raikkonen Alfa RomeoFerrari65 1 lap  1
12  Alex Albon Red BullHonda65 1 lap  2
13  Lando Norris McLarenRenault65 1 lap  2
14  George Russell WilliamsMercedes65 1 lap  1
15  Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa RomeoFerrari65 1 lap  1
16  Kevin Magnussen HaasFerrari65 1 lap  1
17  Romain Grosjean HaasFerrari65 1 lap  1
18  Nicholas Latifi WilliamsMercedes64 2 laps  1
19  Daniil Kvyat AlphaTauriHonda64 2 laps  2
 dnf Lance Stroll Racing PointMercedes51  3
View full results

F1 Portuguese Grand Prix tyre history

ClaDriver ChassisEngine123
1 Lewis Hamilton MercedesMercedesM45H26  
2 Valtteri Bottas MercedesMercedesM44H25  
3 Max Verstappen Red BullHondaS27M43  
4 Charles Leclerc FerrariFerrariM39H32  
5 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauriHondaS32M37  
6 Carlos Sainz Jr. McLarenRenaultS31M39  
7 Sergio Perez Racing PointMercedesS5M44S23
8 Esteban Ocon RenaultRenaultM53S12  
9 Daniel Ricciardo RenaultRenaultS19M51  
10 Sebastian Vettel FerrariFerrariM31H38  
11 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa RomeoFerrariS11M54  
12 Alex Albon Red BullHondaS24M32S21
13 Lando Norris McLarenRenaultS22H25M22
14 George Russell WilliamsMercedesM36H29  
15 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa RomeoFerrariM28H37  
16 Kevin Magnussen HaasFerrariH31M34  
17 Romain Grosjean HaasFerrariM26H39  
18 Nicholas Latifi WilliamsMercedesM24H40  
19 Daniil Kvyat AlphaTauriHondaM25H31S9
  Lance Stroll Racing PointMercedesM18H16S17
View full results

F1 Portuguese Grand Prix as it happened

Source: Read Full Article