Mira Erda, Sneha Sharma selected for W Series trials

India’s Mira Erda and Sneha Sharma have been selected for W Series trials. A total of 50 drivers will be vying for a spot in the W Series next year.

Drivers from 30 different countries will fight for a place on the final grid of 18 in the all-women racing championship. Mira Erda (18) is the youngest among them. In 2017, she entered the Euro JK category of the JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship. Sneha Sharma competes in the LGB-4 class.

The shortlisted candidates will face a 3-day on-and-off-track trial, which includes fitness tests, psychometric profiling and multiple driving skill tests. The final grid will be decided through a series of track tests in the W Series race car – a 2019 Tatuus T-318.

Former F1 drivers David Coulthard and Alex Wurz as well as Dave Ryan – W Series Racing Director will be among the judges.

The W Series has a prize fund of US$1.5 million and the overall winner gets US$5,00,000. Travel and subsistence costs are also taken care of by the organizers. The first race of the season will be held at Hockenheim, Germany on May 3, 2019.

Source: Read Full Article